• Book

    • Close to the Clouds
      • Overview
      • About the author
      • Press
    • Luca Gregorio      Riccardo Magrini     

      Close to the Clouds

      The great Climbers of modern Cycling

      • Overview
      • About the author
      • Press


      From Van Impe to Pogacar, Pantani, Chiappucci, Nibali and Contador, these cyclists’ stories brim with success, aggression, courage and imagination. The book is a tribute to the sport’s greatest climbers, always able to keep fans on the edge of their seats at every uphill sprint.

      Cycling comes in all sorts of flavours. In the collective imagination, when we speak of the great multiple-stage competitions – Tour, Giro d’Italia and Vuelta – all the highlights come from the great climbers.

      This two-man effort by Eurosport commentators Luca Gregorio and Riccardo Magrini is based on the emotions triggered by ten selectedimbers and takes us through the great exploits that marked their careers.

      The book includes a foreword by writer, mountaineer and standout cycling fan Mauro Corona.

      About the author

      Luca Gregorio is from Milan but has a soft spot for Pesaro. In the last 20 years he has worked as a sports journalist for Sportitalia, Mediaset, Fox Sports and Infront. In 2018 he became the cycling voice for Eurosport, as well as a face for Bike Channel. He plays the guitar, sings and loves uphill riding. After growing up in the Pantani era, he now idolises Julian Alaphilippe.

      Riccardo Magrini, known as “il Magro”, has been in the cycling game for half a century. A former racer with a Giro stage win and a Tour stage win in 1983, he has worked as a sports director and TV commentator for Eurosport. His creative parlance has become a mainstay for thousands of fans. He enjoys singing and is passionate about skiing.

  • Book formats

    • Binding: Paperback
      Size: 18 x 23
      Print: Colours
      Pages: 224
      ISBN: 9788836010059
      Price: € 24,90

    Digital formats

    • epub
      ISBN: 9788836010066
      Price: € 20,99
    • Piattaforma: Amazon
      ISBN: 9788836010066